09
Jan
10

I don’t play enough games

During one of my meandering sojourns though the net, I came across this article:  The 26 Major Advantages to Reading More Books and Why 3 in 4 People Are Being Shut Out of Success.  Immediately, I found myself struck by the following point:

10. Improves creativity – by reading more books and exposing yourself to new and more complete information, you will also be able to come up with more creative ideas. As a personal example, I read many, many books on IT Networking. So often, when IT Admins are stumped with a problem, I can come up with a creative (smack your head simple) solution that isn’t written anywhere. But the reason I can do that is because I have read so many books on the subject, I can combine lessons from all of them into new solutions.

The connection with games is that playing games is cheap, uncontrollable design iteration.  By playing games, I can explore the ideas of other people without having to think of them myself.  Also, I don’t have enough conceit to believe that I’ve thought of every good design idea.  So I’ve decided to play more games, more often, and see what people in the world are doing.

I also plan on writing more.  To do this, I’ve decided to start updating this blog on a more consistent basis.  Frankly, I haven’t done much writing since I became a CS double major and its been showing.

0 Responses to “I don’t play enough games”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

